When you have been issued by a traffic ticket in Virginia, you have two options to consider, i.e. to pay the traffic ticket Virginia or to fight against your ticket. Paying the tickets means that you are guilty on your offense and you admit it while fighting against the ticket means that you plead not being guilty and you want to process your defense case in Virginia court.
Paying a Traffic Ticket
When you proceed to pay the traffic ticket Virginia, you have to choose one of the two options, i.e. to pay the pre-traffic ticket or post-traffic ticket. The deadline for your ticket will be based on the option that you have chosen. If you chose pre-court ticket payment, it means that you are waiving your right from the court hearing. On the other hand, if you select post-court traffic ticket Virginia it means you have to make the payments considering your trial date. It is better to submit the ticket within 30 days after the trial to escape from the potential penalty.
Fighting a Traffic Ticket
If you are not guilty of the ticket and you think that the ticket that has been posted on you in unfair, then you can contest your ticket. The process of fighting a traffic ticket Virginia is much complex, and for that, you need to hire legal assistance, and then you have to enter “not guilty” plea in the respective court. Once the trial date is issued by the court, you need to gather the evidence and witnesses with the help of your lawyer to conduct a successful traffic ticket Virginia defense. Your lawyer will represent your case and will defend your ticket in the court trial. A successful defense of your traffic ticket Virginia will result in the reduction of your penalty or fines, but if you are failed to provide enough evidence in the court, then the cost and additional penalties are posed on you including the negative impact on your driving report.
Offenses that Result in Suspension or Revocation of License
For a common motorist (non-commercial) the following offenses usually result in the suspension or revocation of the driving license and penalties.
- Reckless driving
- Violation of traffic rules and laws
- Motor vehicle crash
- Driving under alcohol influence (blood alcohol content equal or greater than 0.8%)
- Intentional or unintentional murder or injury resulted from your car crash
- Failure to prove your identity under restricted areas
However, the traffic ticket Virginia laws are different for the commercial drivers, which are;
- Driving under the influence of alcohol (blood alcohol content is 0.4% or higher.
- Speeding over 15 mph
- Improper lane changes
- Driving without having a CDL
- Engaged in texting while driving
According to traffic laws, penalty for traffic ticket Virginia is issued to the driver, Motor Vehicle Company, and the insurance company. Then the court will issue some or all of the following penalties
- Conviction of the driving record
- Addition in the demerit points in the DMV record that is usually based on the severity of the offense
- Suspension of the driving license
- Revocation of the license
- Disqualification of the license
- Requirement of a driver improvement clinic
Note that if you fail to pay traffic ticket Virginia within 40 days after the court date, additional fees will be incorporated in the ticket.